Facebook Slider

Skating Polly Announce New Album

Sibling punk-rock trio Skating Polly are excited to announce their new full-length album, The Make It All Show for release on May 11 via El Camino Media.  They are also premiering the video for “Queen For A Day”, the first new track from the album, which features guest vocals from the song’s co-writer Exene Cervenka; the singer from the seminal punks X.

“The lyrics for this song came from a conversation we had backstage with Exene about the old game show Queen For A Day” explains Skating Polly’s Kelli Mayo. “The premise of the show was that women with tragic stories (sick children, dead husbands, poverty, etc) would compete against each other for applause from the audience. The winner would get a washing machine or whatever household prize they asked for and be crowned Queen For A Day. Months after this conversation, Exene sent me lyrics in a text and we wrote the song around them. She's singing on the second and third choruses too. We wanted the video to emulate the old show but also look like it was directed by John Waters.”

The threesome tracked their forthcoming fifth studio record this past winter at Seagrass Studio in Los Angeles with producer Brad Wood (Smashing Pumpkins, Liz Phair) who also helmed last year’s New Trick EP (feat. Louise Post and Nina Gordon of Veruca Salt).

Between writing and recording this past year, Kelli, Peyton Bighorse, and Curtis Mayo have spent most of their time on the road – supporting X on two legs of their 40th anniversary tour, hitting the UK and Europe with Kate Nash, playing Riot Fest and zig-zagging across the country on multiple headline tours.

The Make It All Show track list:

01. Classless Act

02. Little Girl Blue and the Battle Envy

03. Free Will At Ease

04. Queen For A Day

05. They’re Cheap (I’m Free)

06. Long Ride

07. Camelot

08. Hollywood Factory

09. This Vacation

10. Flatwound Strings

11. Don’t Leave Me Gravity




Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top