Facebook Slider

Sir Was Is Holding On To A Dream

Gothenburg artist sir Was, aka Joel Wästberg, has announced his new album Holding On To A Dream is set for release Sept 20 via Memphis Industries. The lead single from the album Deployed, which features Little Dragon, is streaming online now. sir Was is set to play a UK tour this November.

Speaking about the how the collaboration with Little Dragon’s Yukimi Nagano came to be, sir Was said "Me and Little Dragon go way back. I’ve been hanging out with them for many years, and they were very supportive with my first album. One day I was working in my small studio room, and Little Dragon were one floor up. Yukimi knocked on the door and asked if she could listen. I played her some of my songs and she said, “This is great, go out and talk to the world!”.”

Beautifully bright and sincere, ’Deployed’ is a perhaps the most vivid pop song that sir Was has released to-date. “Just when I thought I was done with this new album the song came along and took me by surprise. Straight away I could hear Yukimi’s voice on it so I just felt like I had to ask her to do it. I sent her the track and she said she’d love to sing something on it, so I went to their studio and she wrote a few lines based on my verse and the chorus of the song. It all happened so fast and then we had this song. It was really fun.”

See sir Was live:

19 November - Picture House Social, Sheffield

20 November - Headrow House, Leeds

21 November - YES, Manchester

22 November - Broadcast, Glasgow

23 November - Cluny2, Newcastle

24 November - Hare & Hounds, Birmingham

25 November - Hy Brasil, Bristol

27 November – Scala London



Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top