Facebook Slider

Julia Marcell Is Feeling Nostalgic

Indie pop artist Julia Marcell shares her new digital single, ‘Nostalgic’. It's the third single taken from the new studio album, Skull Echo, coming March 27 via Long Branch Records. Marcell says "Thinking about my own nostalgia makes me wonder, how much do I actually long for the real thing? How much of what I remember, I make up? This song happens in the ‘80s, when life was like a music video and everybody lived in New York lofts."

Julia Marcell’s upcoming album was recorded in Berlin with producer Michael Haves, drummer Thomas Fietz and bassist Thomsen Slowey Merkel. Mostly electronic, the record features a huge, cinematic sound, sweeping pop melodies and futuristic production, but the subject matter is very intimate and emotional.

Julia says about the project: "Skull Echo is a story about time, perception and loneliness. About heads in which we are trapped, building our image of the world through our senses - full of uncertain information, selectively remembered and freely transformed. It is a story of longing for another person."

Along with music came the idea for a film. The topics discussed on the album inspired Julia to write a screenplay for a feature of the same title. She currently develops it together with film producer Natalia Grzegorzek from Koskino.

Tracklist "Skull Echo":

1 Cerebral Bliss

2 Infinity Halt

3 Time

4 Nostalgic

5 The Odds

6 Which Way is Now

7 Houses Of Glass

8 Understand Me

9 Mother

10 Life is on television

11 Skull Echo



Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top