Facebook Slider

Teen Creeps Share New Single

Ghent-based trio, Teen Creeps, mix '90s inspired alt rock with hard-hitting punk. The first single from their LP, Sidenote, is out now. Speaking about the new track, singer-bass player Bert said “It’s about not fully committing to someone and getting nowhere because of it. Feeling something but holding it off because you don’t want to get hurt again. When I wrote the words I had just come out of a relationship and wasn’t ready yet for a new one. I met someone but things went sideways because of this. The dancer in the video is Jules Jordens, an actor who is a friend of the band. He showed up with an entire dance routine that perfectly translates the vibe and energy of the song. Plus, watching him go at it brings smiles on our faces.”

Teen Creeps are a trio from Ghent. You may know drummer Ramses Van den Eede from weirdo rockers Hypochristmutreefuzz, singer-bass player Bert Vliegen from the slowcore bands Sophia and Horses, or guitarist Joram De Bock from the former hardcore formation Deadender. But what the three do in Teen Creeps is something quite different. The band itself describes its music laconically as ‘post-everything’, but you can clearly hear the influences of nineties bands Sonic Youth, Dinosaur Jr. and Jawbreaker. As well as those of contemporary bands like Cloud Nothings and Yuck.

“In fact, we usually play indie rock, but the kind of music to which the term originally referred in the ‘80s and ‘90s. That of bands like Superchunk and Archers of Loaf: guitar rock at the boundary between punk and melody. Not because we are nostalgic, but because we identify with the sound of that time. It is solid and energetic, but also melancholic and embodies lived experience. That is something that we are also striving for ourselves: it may ‘rock’, but we always put a lot of feeling into our music.”

'Birthmark' tracklist:

1. Sidenote

2. Hindsight

3. Mercury

4. Will

5. Good Intentions

6. Thread

7. Hemispheres

8. Unravel

9. Forging Kindness




Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top