Facebook Slider

Zola Jesus Shares New Single 'Exhumed'

Today Zola Jesus announces her new album Okovi set for release Sept 8th via Sacred Bones Records, and shares the first single 'Exhumed'. Zola Jesus is set to play a London show on Nov 7 at Village Underground with more European dates to be announced soon.

“Last year, I moved back to the woods in Wisconsin where I was raised. I built a little house just steps away from where my dilapidated childhood tree fort is slowly recombining into earth. Okovi was fed by this return to roots and several very personal traumas. While writing Okovi, I endured people very close to me trying to die, and others trying desperately not to. Meanwhile, I was fighting through a haze so thick I wasn’t sure I’d find my way to the other side. Death, in all of its masks, has been encircling everyone I love, and with it the questions of legacy, worth, and will. Okovi is a Slavic word for shackles. We’re all shackled to something—to life, to death, to bodies, to minds, to illness, to people, to birthright, to duty. Each of us born with a unique debt, and we have until we die to pay it back.  Without this cost, what gives us the right to live? And moreover, what gives us the right to die? Are we really even free to choose?”

This album is a deeply personal snapshot of loss, reconciliation, and a sympathy for the chains that keep us all grounded to the unforgiving laws of nature. To bring it to life, I decided to enlist the help of Alex DeGroot, who has been the only constant in my live band and helped mix the Stridulum EP back in 2010. It will be released on Sacred Bones, the closest group of people I’ll ever have to blood-bound family. Nika Roza Danilova has been recording music as Zola Jesus for more than a decade. For the majority of that time, she’s been on Sacred Bones Records, and Okovi marks her reunion with the label.

Okovi tracklist:

1. Doma

2. Exhumed

3. Soak

4. Ash to Bone

5. Witness

6. Siphon

7. Veka

8. Wiseblood

9. NMO

10. Remains

 11. Half Life 

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top