Facebook Slider

Gang Of Four Get Lucky

  • Published in News

Gang of Four will release a new EP, Complicit on April 13. Their first new material in three years, the release bookends a period since 2015’s critically acclaimed album, What Happens Next, during which Gang of Four have been championed by artists as diverse as St Vincent, James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem, Pharrell Williams and Frank Ocean, the latter of which sampled the band on Blonde. Gang of Four are trailing news of the EP with the first new track to emerge from the release, ‘Lucky’.

The new track captures producer and founding member Andy Gill advancing his writing partnership with frontman John ‘Gaoler’ Sterry, aided by the production nous of Ben Hillier (Blur, Depeche Mode). The results of the newfound approach are borne out in spades on ‘Lucky’, instantly identifiable by Gill’s serrated guitar work, with Gaolers’ ‘Gang of Four Everyman’ protagonist by alternate turns both piteous and self-aggrandising. Freighted by a taut groove from Thomas McNiece and Tobias Humble’s rhythm section, ‘Lucky’ keeps a characteristically analytical eye on the cut and thrust of the modern world, with the other firmly on the dance-floor.

Speaking about ‘Lucky’, Andy Gill says; “This track itself is a product of chance. I’d been watching a serious debate on one of those financial news channels - six white men in suits arguing about the stock markets - and it set me thinking about how limited luck can be. America’s demented ringmaster-clown claims to have bestowed fortune on the markets. He believes himself the master of luck. In reality, they are casinos. A lot of trading is anyway now done by algorithms to try to eliminate the element of chance, but luck isn’t capable of fundamentally changing the system. Even if you believe market crashes are the result of bad luck rather than layer upon layer of human and machine error, the system shudders, restarts and goes on as before.”

Gang of Four came into being in 1977 and its first phase, incorporating several changes of lineup, lasted until 1984. Their debut album Entertainment! – voted in Pitchfork’s top ten albums of the ‘70s & a ‘Record That Changed The World’ by MOJO, equally beloved by the likes of R.E.M., Red Hot Chili Peppers, Nirvana & Rage Against The Machine - felt like a blast of ice-cold water, both in form and content. Gill and King made two more albums in the ‘90s and another in 2011, Content. When King left the project, a reinvigorated Gill seized the opportunity to reimagine Gang of Four from the ground up. As guitarist, composer, producer and lyric writer, he was and remains the band’s driving force.





PINS Share New Single 'Got it Bad'

  • Published in News

PINS have announced a set of shows in the UK and EU for early next year.

The announcement of their February 2016 tour comes in the wake of the Manchester five-piece's recent shows with Best Coast, Gang Of Four and Stealing Sheep.

In celebration of these new dates, the ladies have shared the video for new single ‘Got It Bad.’

Shot in their hometown, director Sarah Jenney Johnson has said: "The song is wonderfully melancholic but it's also, essentially, a love song so I wanted this to reflect in the way it was shot.

"Dipping in and out of focus constantly, blurry lights, handheld camera - almost ‘drunk’ in a way. Drunk in love."

You can check out ‘Got it Bad’ now below or download it from the Bella Union Soundcloud page.


2016 Gig Dates:

11 February - The Bullingdon, Oxford

12 February – The Bodega Social, Nottingham

13 February – The Hug and Pint, Glasgow

15 February - The Cookie, Leicester

16 February – O2 Academy 2, Liverpool

18 February – The Prince Albert, Brighton

19 February – The Thekla, Bristol

20 February – The Garibaldi Hotel, Northampton (Free Entry)

22 February - Bitterzoet, Amsterdam (Supporting Night Beats)

23 February - Musik Und Frieden, Berlin

24 February - Molotow, Hamburg

25 February - Blue Shell, Cologne

27 February – Outlines Festival, Skate Central, Sheffield

Subscribe to this RSS feed