Facebook Slider

Shakarchi & Stranéus Release New Track

Shakarchi & Stranéus inhabit a secret place in the universe of music, one existing at the intersection of Scandinavian poplands, Hisingen forest raves and outernational placelessness. Faik Shakarchi and Daniel Stranéus famously started making beats together inside the Gothenburg tapas-joint where they both worked as clerks. Their now 10-year old friendship is the story of legends, their sparse vinyl output the secret love of deep house 12'' enthusiasts round the globe – the warm, vibrant sounds found on those records a stark contrast to the stripped-down efficiency of their marathon DJ sets, frequently heard within the more nefarious parts of Sweden's nightlife.

The duo has been a part of Stockholm's Studio Barnhus family since the very beginning, having contributed the label's second ever release with the 2010 EP Dödskallar Och Korallrev. This was followed by acclaimed releases on Malmö's Geography Records and HNNY's label Yummy.

The distinctive sound of that early material has been expanded upon and further defined on Steal Chickens from Men and the Future from God, Shakarchi & Stranéus’ debut album. Its 12 cuts were lovingly selected from a plethora of works slowly amassed in makeshift studios all over Gothenburg during the last seven years. The album then took its final form at the same Nacksving studio where recent albums from Talaboman and Kornél Kovács were sonically perfected in cahoots with mix engineer Matt Karmil.


Steal Chickens From Men And The Future From God Album Track listing

1. Multi Orchestral House Sound

2. Hammond Fireworks

3. Marcy Son What

4. Hessingen

5. Kungssten Bus Stop Riddim

6. Path Mountain Square

7. Waayaha Cusub

8. Jenin Grill Dreams

9. Wudzele Obeme

10. The Return Of Uncle Benon

11. K&F's Favorite

12. Wheel Of Fortune




Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top